How to cancel the access code of an iPhone

Your iPhone allows you to add an access code that locks your phone to prevent it from being used by unauthorized people. When you activate it, the iPhone asks you to enter the four-digit code to unlock it. However, if you have forgotten this code and can not use your iPhone, you can override it using the default iPhone administration program in iTunes.

Your iPhone allows you to add an access code that locks your phone to prevent it from being used by unauthorized people. When you activate it, the iPhone asks you to enter the four-digit code to unlock it. However, if you have forgotten this code and can not use your iPhone, you can override it using the default iPhone administration program in iTunes.

Step 1

Restore your iPhone to the factory settings to cancel the access code. To do so, connect your iPhone to the computer using the USB cable that came with your phone and run iTunes. This will show you your device in the left panel under “Devices.”

Step 2

Click on your iPhone under “Devices” and in the “Summary” tab. Click on the “Restore” button. Keep in mind that doing this will erase all the information stored so far. When asked, click “Backup” to make this type of copy to your iPhone.

Step 3

Click on “Restore” again and follow the last instructions to restore your iPhone to its factory settings. When the process is completed, click “Accept.” You should see the message “Connect to iTunes” on your phone. Keep it connected to the computer until the “Connect to iTunes” screen disappears or until you see the message “iPhone has been activated” on your phone.

Step 4

Right click on your iPhone under “Devices” and click “Eject”. Close iTunes and disconnect your iPhone from the computer. The iPhone will no longer ask you to enter the access code.

References